Matadors Fall 3-0 to San Diego State in NCAA Tournament

SAN DIEGO, Calif. ---

The Cal State Northridge women's soccer team (11-5-6) lost 3-0 to San Diego State Saturday evening in the opening round of the 2012 NCAA Tournament. The Aztecs scored a pair of first half goals and added a third in the second half to pull away from the Matadors.

Playing in their first NCAA Tournament game in program history, the Matadors had trouble all night solving the SDSU defense. Despite out-shooting San Diego State 16-8, CSUN had difficulty putting the ball on frame and forced just two saves from SDSU goalkeeper Rachel Boaz.

Conversely, the Aztecs were very much at home Saturday evening. San Diego State was able to play connected soccer throughout the evening and that paid dividends on the scoreboard.

The Matadors fell behind early on a goal in the 10th minute of action. On the counterattack, the Aztecs send in a high, bouncing ball to the top of the CSUN 18-yard box. SDSU's Hannah Keane collected the bouncing ball and lifted a shot over a charging Jacobo to give San Diego State an early 1-0 lead.

The Aztecs doubled their lead on a goal by Megan Jurado in the 25th minute. The senior beat two Matador defenders by curling in a right-footed shot to the corner of the net for her 15th goal of the season.

San Diego State added its third and final goal of the match late in the second half. Sarah Halverson took a throw-in inside the 18-yard box and drilled a shot past Jacobo to make the score 3-0.

Senior Cynthia Jacobo made one save in net for the Matadors in her final collegiate game. The school's all-time leader in career wins and career shutouts, Jacobo finished the season 11-5-6 with a 0.58 goals-against-average, 106 saves and an .891 save percentage.

Brittanie Sakajian led all players with seven shots in the contest and she and Taylor Hobson each put one attempt on frame.

The game represented the final CSUN contest for Northridge's senior class of nine student-athletes: Jacobo, Melissa Fernandez, Nicole Cruz, Jessa Yukihiro, Stephanie Norton, Katie Russ, Marisa Miller, Stephanie Galarze and Haley Hawes.

Text-Only Website