Carl Horsley Named Big West Male Track Athlete of the Year

Big West Release

IRVINE, Calif. - Cal State Northridge junior sprinter Carl Horsley earned one of the major Big West track awards for the second time in three years Wednesday as he was named the conference's Male Track Athlete of the Year.

Horsley, who was the Big West Freshman of the Year in 2011 before struggling through injuries in 2012, came back in a big way this season.

The junior from Oakland, Calif. (Skyline HS) not only won both the 100 and 200 meters at the Big West Championships but ran the second leg of the conference champion 4x100 relay as well as the anchor leg of the 4x400 relay.

"To be recognized as the best in the conference is a very special accomplishment," said Matador head coach Avery Anderson. "This is a testament to the hard work Carl put in to get back to form after dealing with injuries last season. He comes to practice and works everyday, doesn't make excuses and leads by example."

Horsley's 100 meter time of 10.46 was easily the best in the field and moved the junior into the top-10 in Cal State Northridge history at No. 9. He ran his lifetime-best in both the prelims on Friday and the event final on Saturday. He followed that up with a blistering time of 20.89 in the 200 meters which again put him well ahead of the field. Coming in with a previous personal-best of 21.11, Horsley now moves into third in the CSUN career list in the 200 meters.

As part of the 4x100 relay team, Horsley and teammates Derrick Harris, Darquis Rucker and Nicholas DiMartino ran 40.00 coming within .50 of North Texas' Big West relay record. The relay time won their final by over a full second and posted the second-fastest time in Matador history. By anchoring the 4x400 relay that finished fourth, Horsley had a hand in scoring 35 points for the CSUN men's team.

Horsley is the second Matador male athlete to take home Track Athlete of the Year honors after De'Shawn Waters was the first in 2009. Cal State Northridge has previously won four Field Athlete of the Year awards (2004, 2007, 2009, 2010) and has had two Freshman of the Year winners in Horsley (2011) and Reindell Cole (2008).

Horsley and several of his Matador teammates will travel to Austin, Texas next week (May 23-25) to compete in the NCAA West Preliminary Round.


Text-Only Website