Matadors Remain Sixth at Conclusion of Big West Championship

April 21, 2009

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. - A final round 323 was not enough to move Cal State Northridge out of sixth place at the conclusion of the Big West Championship at San Luis Obispo C.C. Sophomore Ashlee Nagamine, who started the day 12th, finish in the same spot to lead the Matadors.

Northridge, which dug itself a hole with rounds of 324-324 on Monday, finished with a 323 on Tuesday but were still 17 strokes behind fifth-place UC Riverside.

Long Beach State capured the women's team title with a three-round 929 which was one stroke better than UC Irvine (930) and UC Davis (930) which tied for second. Cal Poly was fourth (945) followed by UC Riverside (954) and the Matadors (971).

Nagamine paced Northridge with a 12th place finish as she was the lone Matador to put together a pair of rounds in the 70's. The sophomore carded a final round 79 to go with rounds of 78-80 on Monday as she finished at (+21) 237.

Freshman Lady Samson, who began the day in 19th place, slipped to 23rd after a final round 82. Samson finished her first conference championship at (+29) 245.

Senior Krystina Gillenwater finished 26th after rounds of 84-81-85 which left her at (+34) 250 and fellow senior Katrina Sutton finished 27th at (+36) 252. Sutton, who was in the top-20 after two rounds, struggled to a final round 88 on Tuesday.

Stephanie Aston, who did not finish the tournament after withdrawing in the second round, finished with rounds of 82-77.

Cal Poly's Stephanie Yocum won individual medalist honors by three shots after posting a three round score of (+9) 225. UC Irvine's Jane Chin and Patty Chawalitmetha, along with UC Davis' Chelsea Stelzmiller and Long Beach State's Lee Lopez, tied for second place at (+12) 228.

Big West Women's Golf Awards

First Team Stephanie Yocum, Cal Poly Jennifer Bermingham, UC Riverside Alice Kim, UC Davis Chelsea Stelzmiller, UC Davis Kay Hoey, Long Beach State Lee Lopez, Long Beach State

Second Team Joy Trotter, UC Irvine Patty Chawalitmetha, UC Irvine Hilary Packard, UC Irvine Hannah Brabb, Cal Poly

Coach of the Year Sue Ewart, Long Beach State

Freshman of the Year Lee Lopez, Long Beach State

Player of the Year Jane Chin, UC Irvine


Text-Only Website