MPSF Indoor Championships Up Next For Matador Track & Field

Live Results

MPSF Indoor Championship Homepage

Final Heat Sheets (PDF)

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. - Cal State Northridge is in the homestretch of the 2013 indoor track & field season as the Matador men and women travel to Seattle, Wash. for the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Indoor Championships Feb 22-23.

Fifteen of the West's top track and field programs participate in MPSF Championships competition in indoor track and field. The group is comprised of members of the Big West, Pac-12, and West Coast Conferences, and includes ten of the eleven Pac-12 indoor track and field programs. BYU, Colorado, Hawaii and Utah have joined the conference over the past two years. There are 12 men's teams coming to Seattle and 15 women's teams, as UC Irvine, Hawaii and Utah have women's teams only.

At last season's MPSF Championship meet on the same Dempsey Indoor track, the Matador women finished 11th with 11 points while the men were 12th with nine points. The highest finish for a CSUN women's team at the MPSF Championships was a second-place showing in 1993. The Matador women won the Big Sky Conference Indoor Championship in 1999 and also won the WAC Indoor title in 2007. The Northridge men have finished as high as fourth in the MPSF (1993) and were second in the Big Sky on two occasions (1998, 2001).

Northridge has had a solid indoor season in 2013, performing well at meets in New York (Great Dane Classic, NYU Team Challenge), Washington (UW Invitational) and Texas (Texas A&M Invitational).

Several Matadors come into the conferece championships this weekend ranked among the top-30 in their respective events. Donovan Toban, who comes in ranked eighth in the heptathlon, is the highest ranked CSUN athlete heading into the meet. Toban scored a season-best 5,061 points on the same track at the UW Invitational (Jan. 25). On the women's side, Jealinda Mills is in the top-10 in the triple jump after posting a season-best 38-6.75 (11.75) at the Great Dane Classic. 

About the MPSF: Established in 1992 to serve the competitive needs of member institutions from the Pac-12, Big West, Mountain West, Western Athletic and West Coast Conferences and other selected universities in the western United States, the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation provides Division-I competition to schools whose primary conferences do not sponsor championships in selected sports.



60 Meters
Darquis Rucker - 6.96 (21st)
Derrick Harris - 6.97 (22nd)
Jordan Taylor - 6.97 (22nd)
Donovan Toban - 6.97 (22nd)
Carl Horsley - 6.98 (27th)

200 Meters
Kenneth Stone - 22.16 (29th)

400 Meters
Khalid Jones - 48.70 (15th)
Isaiah Cantu - 49.11 (20th)

60 Hurdles
Donovan Toban - 8.28 (18th)

4x400 Relay
CSUN - 3:16.41 (8th)

Long Jump
Donovan Toban - 23-11.75 (9th)

Triple Jump
Donovan Toban - 47-5 (18th)
Derion Taylor - 47-4.25 (19th)

Shot Put
Tucker Weathers - 53-7 (10th)

Weight Throw
Tucker Weathers - 51-0 (15th)

Donovan Toban - 5,061 (8th)
Derrick Harris - 4,190 (13th)


60 Meters
Hafsatu Kamara - 7.65 (12th)
Shawnta Barnes - 7.67 (19th)
Samantha Dirks - 7.73 (25th)
Breionna Jackson - 7.76 (30th)

200 Meters
Lexis Lambert - 24.80 (18th)
Shawnta Barnes - 24.90 (21st)
Marie Veale - 25.02 (27th)

400 Meters
Lexis Lambert - 56.11 (19th)
Breionna Jackson - 56.96 (26th)

60 Hurdles
Stephanie Hicks - 8.68 (10th)

4x400 Relay
CSUN - 3:48.04 (10th)

High Jump
Ashley Henry - 5-7 (11th)

Pole Vault
Jenna Yowell - 12-3.5 (22nd)

Long Jump
Marissa Rossi - 18-9.75 (11th)
Stephanie Hicks - 17-9.5 (23rd)
Shawnta Barnes - 17-8.75 (25th)
Jealinda Mills - 17-8 (27th)

Triple Jump
Jealinda MIlls - 38-6.75 (8th)
Marissa Rossi - 36-5 (17th)
Cydney Leath - 35-7.25 (20th)

Shot Put
Sydney Hubbard - 44-2.75 (20th)
Jakayla Daniels - 44-1.5 (21st)

Stephanie Hicks - 3,198 (18th)
Jealinda Mills - 3,132 (20th) 


Text-Only Website