Chris Russo, Margo Dionisio Earn 2011-12 All-Big West Golf Team Honors

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. - Cal State Northridge had two golfers named 2011-12 All-Big West Conference this week as junior Chris Russo earned first team honors for the men and junior Margo Dionisio was named honorable mention for the women's squad.

The 2011-12 Big West honor is the second for both players as Russo was named honorable mention in 2010-11 while Dionisio was also honored with honorable mention accolades following the 2009-10 season.

Russo, who's season will continue at the NCAA Regionals in Greenboro, NC on May 17-19, led the Matador men with a 72.5 stroke average during the regular season. He posted the first two tournament wins of his Northridge career this season taking home individual medalist honors at the St. Mary's Invitational (Sept. 13-14) and the Pat Hicks Thunderbird Invitational (Feb. 13-14). He was the Matadors' low player in 10 of 12 tournaments and finished with seven top-20 finishes including a ninth-place finish at the Big West Championship.

"Chris had a solid year for us and is certainly deserving of first team honors," said head coach Jim Bracken. "He posted two wins this season which is a great accomplishment. Chris is also a great leader on this team with a great work ethic. He is also supportive of his teammates and never puts himself above the team.

"With the core guys we have returning next year, along with the recruits we have coming in, the leadership of Chris and Matt (Siporin) will make our team competitive not only in the Big West but in the region as well."

Dionisio played in all 11 tournaments and 26 rounds for the Matadors this season compiling a 78.8 stroke average. The junior from Whittier, Calif., had a team-best three top-10 finishes highlighted by a fourth-place showing at the Big West Championship. Dionisio also was the low scorer in all three dual matches with CSU Bakersfield. Her three-year scoring average of 78.47 currently ranks third in Cal State Northridge women's golf history.

"It was great for Margo to finish in the top-five at conference," said head coach Bonnie Murphy. "It will certainly give her confidence heading into the amateur season this summer. I know she was disappointed with her spring season but she poured it on when she needed to and we're super proud of her. Margo will definitely be a key player for us next year and someone the younger players will look up to as we look to challenge for the Big West championship."


Men's Player of the Year
Alex Edfort, Pacific 

Women's Player of the Year
Demi Runas, UC Davis

Men's Freshman of the Year

Xander Schauffele, Long Beach State

Women's Freshman of the Year

Beverly Vatananugulkit, UC Davis

Men's Coach of the Year
Mickey Yokoi, Long Beach State
Women's Coach of the Year
Anne Walker, UC Davis

Men's All-Big West First Team

Mark Anguiano, Cal State Fullerton
Alex Edfort, Pacific
Allan Jun, UC Irvine
Kevin Lim, Long Beach State
Kevin Roy, Long Beach State
Chris Russo, Northridge
Xander Schauffele, Long Beach State

Women's All-Big West First Team

Demi Runas, UC Davis
Beverly Vatananugulkit, UC Davis
Amy Simanton, UC Davis
Jessica Chulya, UC Davis
Lalita Patipaksiri, UC Irvine
Michelle Yang, UC Irvine

Men's All-Big West Second Team
Pete Fernandez, UC Irvine 
Matt Hansen, UC Davis
Russell Boring, UC Santa Barbara
Kei Kita, UC Santa Barbara 

Women's All-Big West Second Team

Tisha Abrea, Cal State Fullerton
Simone Hoey, Long Beach State
Rochelle Chan, Long Beach State
Monica Villarreal, Long Beach State
Michelle Park, UC Irvine

Men's All-Big West Honorable Mention
Scott Patterson, Cal Poly
Matt Seramin, UC Davis 

Women's All-Big West Honorable Mention

Taylor Fowler, Cal State Fullerton
Amelia Ek, UC Riverside
Blair Lewis, UC Davis
Asia Adell, Cal Poly
Margo Dionisio, Northridge


Text-Only Website