Justin DeMarco Named 2009 Recipient of the Mike Frick Memorial Scholarship

March 25, 2009


Justin DeMarco Named 2009 Recipient of the Mike Frick Memorial Scholarship

Current Matador sophomore Justin DeMarco will join an elite list of student-athletes from the Cal State Northridge baseball program as the 2009 recipient of the Mike Frick Memorial Scholarship. 

DeMarco will receive scholarship funds in Mike's memory from an endowment set up by his parents, Lori and Gary Frick. 

"I had the priviledge of coaching Mike Frick," stated Cal State Northridge Head Coach Steve Rousey. "Justin is an excellent choice as a recipient because he embodies the same passion for baseball and unselfishness as a Matador teammate that Mike did. Like Mike, Justin is the type of player and person any coach would be proud to say he worked with." 

In his inaugural season with the Matadors, DeMarco started in 47 of the 52 games his participated in as an infielder for Coach Rousey, finished the season with a .252 batting average, collected 38 total hits, one home run, and 24 runs batted in.

Initiated in 2005, the Mike Frick Memorial Scholarship is presented annually to the player that best personifies and embodies Frick's work ethic, leadership skills, and dedication to the game of baseball as chosen by the coaching staff. 

Before being drafted by the Oakland Athletics in the eighth round of the 2001 Major League Baseball Draft, Frick pitched three seasons at Cal State Northridge for then-head coach Mike Batesole, and is still the current Matador record-holder in games pitched and total saves with 36 and 9 respectively, both set during the 2001 season. 

Frick pitched a total of three professional seasons during his time in the Oakland Athletics' organization, advancing to their Double-A affiliate Midland Rockhounds before being tragically killed in an automobile accident in late 2003. 

Before being promoted to Midland, Frick spent one season with the Modesto A's in 2002 and recorded 23 saves in one season. For his successes on the diamond in Modesto, he was voted by fans to the team's All-Time 30th Anniversary squad, joining other former A's including Rickey Henderson, Mark McGwire, and Miguel Tejada. 

DeMarco joins a select list of Matadors that includes Drew Aguailar, Alberto Quintana, Bobby Paschal, and last year's recipient, Phil Hann.

The Mike Frick Memorial Scholarship Recipients

2005    Drew Aguailar and Alberto Quintata

2007    Bobby Paschal

2008    Phil Hann

2009    Justin DeMarco


Text-Only Website