Cal State Northridge Competes At Aztec Invitational

March 11, 2011

San Diego, Calif. - The Cal State Northridge women's water polo team returns to action on Saturday (3/12/11) and Sunday (3/13/11) at the Aztec Invitational at San Diego State.

The ten team tournament includes seven nationally-ranked teams including #4 Hawaii, #9 San Diego State, #10 San Jose State, #17 Indiana, #18 UC San Diego, #20 Pacific and #16 Cal State Northridge.

On Saturday at noon, the Matadors face fourth-ranked Hawaii followed by a 5 p.m. game against tenth-ranked San Jose State. On Sunday at 10:00 a.m., the Matadors face #18 UC San Diego followed by a 5:30 p.m. contest against ninth-ranked San Diego State.

Three Matador players are ranked 1-2-3 in the Big West Conference in scoring. Whitney Delgado is the league leader with 51 goals followed by Heidi Pettinger and Sydney Sonoda with 36 goals apiece. Freshman Lindsy Nelson is tenth in the league in scoring with 21 goals.

For complete tournament information, go to

Record Review ...
Junior Whitney Delgado has 170 career goals, only 52 goals short of the CSUN school record held by Allison Brookes (222 goals, 2005-08) ... Chari Christopher resides in second place with 177 goals (2003-05) ... Delgado has 51 goals this year, tenth-best for a single season in school history ... Delgado holds the school record with 80 goals set last year ... Delgado also has 76 career assists, ninth-best in school history ... The 214 goals scored by Cal State Northridge this year is eighth-best for a single season ... The 200 assists this year is sixth-best for a single season in CSUN history.

National Notes ... All six Big West Conference schools who sponsor women's water polo are nationally-ranked according to the Collegiate Water Polo Association ... Cal State Northridge is ranked 16th ... Long Beach State is 11th, UC Irvine is 12th, UC Santa Barbara is 13th, UC Davis is 15th and Pacific is 20th.

Conference Chatter ...
The Big West Conference fulfilled a two-year waiting period to earn automatic qualification to the NCAA Championship, meaning the winner of this year's conference tournament will receive one of eight slots in the national tournament ... The third annual Big West Tournament is set for April 29-May in Santa Barbara.

Text-Only Website