Cal State Northridge Set To Host Big West Track & Field Championships

May 13, 2010

Friday's Heat Sheets in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

BIG WEST TRACK & FIELD CHAMPIONSHIPS RETURN TO NORTHRIDGE FOR FIFTH TIME Cal State Northridge will host the 2010 Big West Track & Field Championships for the fourth time in the last five years and fifth time overall this weekend as the top athletes in the conference make their way to the Matador Track and Field Complex. The main portion of the meet gets underway Friday, May 14th with the hammer throw at 9 a.m. Track events on Friday begin with the women's steeplechase final at 2:30 p.m. Saturday's events get underway at noon with the women's triple jump with the first event on the track, the women's 4x100 relay final, at 3 p.m. The final event on Saturday will be the men's 4x400 relay which is scheduled for 5:55 p.m.

MEET RESULTS Live meet results following each event of the Big West Championships will be posted at:

Live Results

ROBINSON OPENS BIG WEST CHAMPIONSHIPS WITH DECATHLON WIN Northridge got off to a solid start last weekend picking up 16 points in the decathlon behind Robert Robinson's first title in the event. Robinson scored a lifetime-best 7,526 points to easily out-distance Nicholas Armstrong of Long Beach State (7,224) while teammate Lance Gonzales was third with 6,995 points. The Matador women earned 14 points in the heptathon as Desirae Gonder and Shelese Ruffin finished second and third respectively. Gonder scored a lifetime-best 5,512 points while Ruffin posted 5,132 points. Both Gonder and Robinson now rank among the top-10 in the nation in the heptathlon and decathlon.

MATADOR WOMEN's PREVIEW The Northridge women are seeking their fifth consecutive Big West team championship and seventh since joining the conference in 2002. Only Utah State, which won seven straight championships from 1993-1999, has won more Big West women's team championships than Northridge ... The Matadors have also never lost a conference championship in which Northridge has hosted (2003, 2006-2008) ... Morgan Bogard (Hammer), Tiana Webberley (Pole Vault) and LaShandra Batiste (100 Hurdles) come in as the top ranked performer in their respective events and the Matadors also have Shelese Ruffin who is ranked second in both the 200 and 400 meters. The Northridge 4x400 relay team has the top time in the conference this season (3:41.17) while the 4x100 relay comes in with the second-best time (45.17) ... The Matadors will be challenged by several teams this weekend, including UC Santa Barbara which is looking for its first conference win since 2005 ... Last season, the Matador women won by the largest margin (83.5 points) of any of their seven championships ... Northridge has had the fastest woman in the conference the last six seasons as Shauna Hackett (2004), Deanna Goodwin (2005-07) and Sherrina Lofton (2008-09) have all won the 100 meters ... Lofton, who will not compete this weekend, is also the two-time defending champion in the 200 ... Ruffin has won the last two Big West 400 meter titles and is the defending long jump champion ... Northridge has won four straight 4x100 titles and two consecutive 4x400 titles ... The Matador women are seeking their first discus championship and have not won the javelin since 2002 ... Northridge has won two of the last four hammer titles and last won the shot put in 2006.

MATADOR MEN'S PREVIEW The defending champion Matador men also look to add to their impressive Big West history as Northridge has claimed four of the past six conference crowns. The last time the Matadors won a Big West title at home was 2007 when Northridge eeked out a 2.5 point win over UC Santa Barbara ... The Matador throwers should have a solid meet as Derek Cooper comes in as the top-ranked thrower in both the shot put and discus while Alex Butler is the top-ranked hammer thrower. Lance Gonzales comes in with the second-best javelin thrower. Cooper is the two-time defending discus champion while Gonzales is the defending javelin champion. Butler won the 2008 Big West shot put title ... Northridge looks to continue its stranglehold on the long jump as Reindell Cole comes in with the best mark. The Matadors have claimed five of the last six long jump titles with Cole winning in 2008 ... On the track, Bradley Ike owns the top time in the 100 meters (10.47) while David Reid ranks second in the 200 and decathlon champion Robert Robinson is third in the 110 hurdles. Northridge has won five of the last six 110 meter hurdle championships ... The Matadors have also excelled in the 4x100 relay, winning conference championships in 2003, 2006, 2007 and 2009 ... Northridge head coach Don Strametz was named Big West Coach of the Year for both the men and women in 2009.


Text-Only Website