Matadors Find Fall Success at SDSU Fall Tennis Classic

Oct. 6, 2009

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. - The Cal State Northridge women's tennis team had a successful opening to its fall season at the SDSU Fall Tennis Classic I. Junior Brooke Doane and freshman Anna Yang won the doubles title at the event, defeating teams from San Diego, San Diego State and Arizona in the process.

Doane, who earned All-Big West Doubles First Team honors in 2008 with Evgeniya Vertesheva, picked up right where she left off, teaming with newcomer Yang to take the doubles crown. The duo defeated USD's Laura Claus and Marite Raygada, 8-5, in the opening round of the event, then beat San Diego State's Sierra and Roxanne Ellison, 8-2, in the semifinals.

In the finals of the event, Doane and Yang posted an 8-1 victory over Arizona's Deborah Castany and Claire Rietsch. In her first two seasons at Northridge, Doane has posted a combined 38-4 record in doubles action, the best winning percentage in school history.

In other action for the Matadors, junior Nina Jaworowski took a 6-4, 7-6 (11) decision over Claus in singles action. Jaworowski earned All-Big West Singles Second Team honors in 2008.

Also posting singles wins over at the event for CSUN were Doane, who defeated USD's Alexandra Demidova, 6-0 and 6-3, and SDSU's R. Ellison, 6-4, 6-3. Fellow junior Whitney Paluch battled throughout the weekend in three different singles matches, but ultimately fell in all three decisions.

Paluch and Jaworowski did team up to post an 8-1 doubles victory over USD's Justine Perl and Lise Marbach.Other winners for the Matadors included freshman Ryma Korab, who took a 6-1, 6-3 victory over USD's Perl. 

Northridge resumes its fall schedule at the Fullerton Invitational, which runs from Oct. 9 to Oct. 11. CSUN will also compete in the Western Regionals, which run from Oct. 22-25, and then host the Matador Invitational from Nov. 13-15 at the Matador Tennis Complex.

The Matadors officially open their 2010 campaign at home on Feb. 6 when they host UC San Diego at 12:30 p.m.