Matador Women Finish Eighth, Men Ninth at Big West Championships

Nov. 1, 2008

Final Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

RIVERSIDE, Calif. - Sophomore Lilyana Morejon finished an impressive 15th and the Cal State Northridge women placed eighth and the men were ninth at the 2008 Big West Cross Country Championships.

With her 15th-place showing, Morejon posted the Northridge women's best finish since Liz Camy was third in 2005. The sophomore from North Hollywood, Calif., ran 21:09.50 an average of 5:40.6 per mile on the 6k course. Nanci Velarde was the next highest Matadors runner as she placed 53rd in a time of 22:57.90. Sandra Velarde was 60th (23:11.20), Sharon Wilkinson was 66th (24:14.00), Mallory Day was 68th (24:52.90), Marissa Crook was 69th (25:03.10), Emily Tolbert was 71st (26:00.10) and Leslie Ching finished 72nd (26:00.80).

The Matador women posted 130 points and a total time of 1:56:25.50.

The Northridge men were led by senior Fernandez who finished 47th in a time of 26:24.4. Juan Olea was just behind Fernandez in 60th-place in a time of 27:17.9 while Tawei Ma was 62nd (27:36.5, Mark Simpson was 64th (28:58.3), Gustavo Hernandez was 66th (29:48.9), Marvin Gonzalez was 67th (30:00.7), Masis Hagobian was 69th (31:09.0) and Eddie Garcia finished 70th (31:49.3).

Complete Release Courtesy of the Big West Conference

The 2008 Big West Cross Country Championships were all about history as the UC Riverside women's contingent claimed its first Division I title, while the Cal Poly men's team continued its conference record-setting title streak with its sixth consecutive championship.

The Highlanders, who finished last in the Championship race just five years ago, completed its ascension to the top of the league with 60 points for first place. UC Irvine came in second with 69 tallies, while UC Davis came in third with 81 points. Cal State Fullerton and Cal Poly tied for fourth with 117 points, while Long Beach State (125) and UC Santa Barbara (130) came in sixth and seventh, respectively. Cal State Northridge (227) and Pacific (266) rounded out the scoring in the women's race.

The Mustangs claimed their championship thanks to a dominating 19-point performance, easily outdistancing second place UC Davis (71) and third place UC Riverside (73). Fourth place belonged to UC Santa Barbara with 79 tallies, while Long Beach State (136) and UC Irvine (162) finshed behind the Gauchos in the standings. Cal State Fullerton (191) and Cal State Northridge (247) completed the scoring on the men's side.

Danielle Domenichelli won the overall title in the women's 6K race with a time of 20:09.4, the only UC Santa Barbara runner to finish in the top 10. Laura Olvera of UC Irvine finished second in 20:12.5, the fourth straight season she has finished either second or third. UC Riverside claimed the next two slots in Cristina Olivas (20:15.2) and Brenda Martinez (20:19.3), while Candice Chavez gave UCI its second top five finisher with a time of 20:27.4. UC Davis claimed the sixth and seventh place positions as Kaitlin Gregg (20:31.5) and Kim Conley (20:34.00) crossed the finish line, while Cal Poly's Bridie McCarey came in eighth at 20:38.1. Cal State Fullerton's Grace Gonzales (20:42.5) and Cal Poly's Lauren Mulkey (20:47.3) rounded out the top 10 in the women's race.

Individually in the men's 8K race, Cal Poly claimed five of the top seven slots. Daniel Gonia was the overall winner with a time of 24:02.4, while he was followed by Evan Anderson in second place who finished in 24:15.6. Scott Smith of UC Santa Barbara was third in 24:19.3, while the Mustangs claimed the next two spots as Carl Dargitz (24:24.3) and Joe Gatel (24:25.7) finished in fourth and fifth, respectively. UCSB claimed its second of three top 10 finishers on the day as Julian DeRubira (24:31.4) finished sixth, while Troy Swier completed the scoring for Cal Poly with a seventh place showing in 24:37.7. Finishing up the top 10 was K.C. Cody of UC Davis (24.39.9) in eighth, Michael Buell of UC Riverside (24:42.1) in ninth and Waleed Totari of UC Santa Barbara (24:46.7) in tenth

2008 Big West Cross Country Championships Women's 6K 1. Danielle Domenichelli, UCSB - 20:09.40 2. Laura Olvera, UCI - 20:12.50 3. Cristina Olivas, UCR - 20:15.20 4. Brenda Martinez, UCR - 20:19.30 5. Candace Chavez, UCI - 20:27.40 6. Kaitlin Gregg, UCD - 20:31.50 7. Kim Conley, UCD - 20:34.00 8. Bridie McCarey, CP - 20:38.10 9. Grace Gonzales, CSF - 20:42.50 10. Lauren Mulkey, CP - 20:47.30

2008 Big West Cross Country Championships Men's 8K 1. Daniel Gonia, CP - 24:02.4 2. Evan Anderson, CP - 24:15.6 3. Scott Smith, UCSB - 24:19.3 4. Carl Dargitz, CP - 24:24.3 5. Joe Gatel, CP - 24:25.7 6. Julian DeRubira, UCSB - 24:31.4 7. Troy Swier, CP - 24:37.7 8. K.C. Cody, UCD - 24:39.9 9. Michael Buell, UCR - 24:42.1 10. Waleed Totari, UCSB - 24:46.7