Matador Cross Country Opens 2010 Season at UC Irvine Invitational

Sept. 9, 2010

Cal State Northridge men's and women's cross country open the 2010 season this Saturday, Sept. 11 as 14 Matador women and 11 Matador men will compete at the Asics/UC Irvine Cross Country Invitational.

The meet will be held at the Anteater Recreation Center Field on the UCI campus.

The Matador women's squad on Saturday will consist of returners: Vanessa Carr, Yvonne Castillo-Urbina, Mallory Day, Ariana Gomez, Rebecca Huffman, Desiree Karotko, Zitlalic Ley, Jazmin Martinez, Lilyana Morejon, Ana Rosales and Natalie Wollaston.

New to the women's squad in 2010 are: Fany Alvarado, Kristy Burkey and Araceli Zainos.

The men's squad returns Daniel Garcia, Eddie Garcia, Marvin Gonzales, Masis Hagobian, Hunter Hays, Gustavo Hernandez, Tawei Ma, Juan Olea and Miguel Galvez.

New to the men's squad and running this weekend are: Omar Alvarado and Michael McEvoy.

The Matador women finished seventh at the Big West Cross Country Championship last season led by Morejon's third-place finish. Ley also was a factor in her first season running for the Matadors as she placed 38th at the conference championship.

The Northridge men finished eighth in 2009 while Olea was the Matadors' top distance runner finishing 42nd at the Big West Championship.

Morejon and Olea advance to the 2009 NCAA West Regional in Springfield, Ore., where Morejon finished 50th in 22:10.20 and Olea was 140th in 34:11.70.

In the 2010 Big West Coaches Preseason Poll, the Northridge women were picked to finish eighth with 20 points while the men were picked to finish eighth with eight points.

UC Santa Barbara was predicted to win the women's cross country title while the Cal Poly men were selected to capture the crown.