Eric Vance, Jacek Ratajczak Named 2009 AVCA All-Americans

May 4, 2009

AVCA All-America Team Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

LEXINGTON, Ky. - Senior Eric Vance was named First Team All-American for the second consecutive season and junior Jacek Ratajczak was named Second Team as the 2009 AVCA Division I-II Men's Volleyball All-America Team was announced by the American Volleyball Coaches Association on Monday, May 4.

Northridge, which wrapped up another enormously successful season with a 24-7 overall record, has now received five AVCA All-America honors over the past two seasons.

Vance, who becomes Cal State Northridge's first back-to-back AVCA First Team All-American in school history, joined Pepperdine's Paul Carroll and Penn State's Max Holt as the only repeat First Team selections from last season.

Coley Kyman was also a two-time First Team AVCA All-American but not in successive seasons. Kyman earned the honor from the AVCA in 1991 and 1993 and was named Asics/Volleyball Monthly First Team All-American in 1992.

Vance (2008, 2009), Kyman (1991, 1993), Doug English (2003), Joe Nargi (2003), Chad Strickland (1997) and Neil Coffman (1991) are the only AVCA First Team All-Americans in school history.

Vance, a 6-4 outside hitter from Camarillo, Calif., had his finest season in a Matador uniform in 2009. He led the Matadors in kills (625), kills per game (5.58) and service aces (57). Vance was also third in digs (213) and fourth in blocks (61) while leading the Matadors with nine double-doubles. He set the Northridge single-season record in aces with 57 and came within two aces of tying Eckhard Walter for most aces in school history. He finished his senior campaign among the top-three players in the nation in both kills and aces. Vance is also a two-time All-MPSF First Team selection.

Ratajczak, a 7-0 middle blocker from Warsaw, Poland, earned All-America honors for the first time as he was named to the AVCA Second Team. A Second Team All-MPSF selection in 2009, Ratajczak finished the 2009 season fourth on the Matadors in kills with a personal season-best 271. He averaged 2.44 kills per game while hitting .468 which ranked fourth in the nation. Ratajczak also added a team-high 120 total blocks (18 solo) and career-highs of 21 aces and 41 digs.

Cal State Northridge, which finished the 2009 season with a school-record 24 wins, was 24-7 overall and finished third in the MPSF at 16-6. The Matadors, who were ousted in the MPSF Semifinals by Pepperdine on Apr. 30, will return six starters and 11 letterwinners in 2010.

AVCA Division I-II Men's First-Team All-America

Ryan Ammerman, S, UC Irvine; Dean Bittner+, RS/OPP, Long Beach State; Paul Carroll*#, RS/OPP, Pepperdine; Max Holt*, MB, Penn State; Max Lipsitz+, MB, Penn State; Wil Price, OH, Penn State; Erik Shoji, DS/L, Stanford; Kawika Shoji+, S, Stanford; Murphy Troy, OH, USC; Eric Vance *, OH, Cal State Northridge;

AVCA Division I-II Men's Second-Team All-America

Tony Ciarelli, OH, USC; Carson Clark, RS/OPP, UC Irvine; Dennis Del Valle+, DS/L, Penn State; Jordan DuFault, OH, UC Irvine; Edgardo Goas, S, Penn State; Drew Pickering, OH, Lewis; Jacek Ratajczak, MB, Cal State Northridge; Jordan Varee, RS/OPP, Saint Francis; Dustin Watten, DS/L, Long Beach State; Kevin Wynne, MB, UC Irvine

AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year: Announced at NCAA Championship Banquet on May 6. AVCA Division I-II Men's Newcomer of the Year: Erik Shoji, Stanford University, Fr.

* - 2008 AVCA Division I-II Men's First-Team All-America selection + - 2008 AVCA Division I-II Men's Second-Team All-America selection # - 2007 AVCA Division I-II Men's First-Team All-America selection


Text-Only Website