Lebrock, Hoefer Selected to 2012 All-MPSF Men's Volleyball Team

2012 All-MPSF Release

The future continues to look bright for Cal State Northridge men's volleyball as sophomore Brandon Lebrock and freshman Julius Hoefer were both named to the 2012 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Conference Volleyball Team.

The honors were the first in the careers of both Matador players as Lebrock was named Honorable Mention while Hoefer was named to the seven-player All-Freshman Team.

Northridge has now had three underclassmen chosen to the All-MPSF Team in the last two years as Greg Faulkner was named to the All-Freshman Team in 2011.

"We've got a lot of young talent and obviously our task now is to get this young talent some experience," said head coach Jeff Campbell. "We're looking forward to the future and we think that with all these young players getting a year of experience under their belt we'll be that much better for the years to come."

Lebrock, a 6-1 outside hitter from Northridge, Calif. (Crespi HS), has had a breakout sophomore campaign. After a slow start to the season, Lebrock became one of the conference's top outside hitting threats over the final six weeks of the regular season. He ranks second on the Matadors with 254 kills (2.62 kpg) while hitting .258 for the season. Lebrock has posted 186 of his 254 kills over the last 15 matches and is averaging 3.29 kpg over that stretch. Also a threat from the service line, the sophomore has 18 aces this season giving him 38 in his two-year Matador career.

"Brandon has really played great, especially the second half of the season," said Campbell. "He has been one of our best passers, one of our best attackers and one of our best servers so all-around he's been a real bright light for our team. We're very happy that he is an all-conference player."

"It's a good feeling that all the hard work paid off, I'm really happy right now," said Lebrock. "I really want to work hard this summer and next year and try to make first or second team."

Hoefer, a 6-9 opposite from Steingaden, Germany (Kempfenhausen), is the third Northridge player since 2009 named to the MPSF's All-Freshman Team. The true freshman leads the Matadors in kills (280), kills per game (3.01) and points (333.5) while also ranking second on the squad in aces (18) and is third in both digs (91) and blocks (61). Hoefer was named the conference's Player of the Week on Mar. 26 after leading Northridge to a pair of four-set wins over No. 12 Hawai'i. He pounded a career-high 27 kills while hitting .422 in 45 swings in the first win before coming back with 19 kills (.300) and nine digs the second night. He posted his first collegiate double-double with 26 kills and 10 digs in the Matadors' 3-2 win at Pacific on Apr. 6.

"Julius took on a big offensive load for us this year," said Campbell. "he's very deserving of being named to the All-Freshman Team and we're very proud of his achievements this season." 

"I'm excited and it's an honor to make the All-Freshman Team," said Hoefer. "I didn't really have any expectations coming into the season so for me it's an honor to be recognized."

USC, the 2012 MPSF regular season champions, earned both Player of the Year (Tony Ciarelli) and Freshman of the Year (Micah Christenson) honors. Northridge, the No. 8-seed in the conference tournament, will travel to top-seeded USC for an MSPF Tournament Quarterfinal match Saturday at 7 p.m.


Player of the Year
Tony Ciarelli, OH, USC

Freshman of the Year
Micah Christenson, S, USC

All-MPSF First Team
Tony Ciarelli, OH, USC
Taylor Sander, OH, BYU
Brad Lawson, OH, Stanford
Carson Clark, OPP, UC Irvine
Kevin Tillie, OH, UC Irvine
Thomas Amberg, MB, UCLA
Kyle Caldwell, S, UCLA
Erik Shoji, L, Stanford
Futi Tavana, MB, BYU
Maurice Torres, OPP, Pepperdine
Weston Dunlap, MB, UCLA
Jeremy Dejno, OH, UC Irvine

All-MPSF Second Team
Steven Shandrick, MB, USC
Micah Christenson, S, USC
Gonzalo Quiroga, OH, UCLA
Joe Kauliakamoa, S, BYU
Evan Barry, S, Stanford
Dan McDonnell, MB, UC Irvine
Robb Stowell, OPP, BYU
Taylor Crabb, OH, Long Beach State
Brian Cook, OPP, Stanford
Russell Lavaja, MB, BYU
Steven Hunt, OH, Hawaii
Javier Caceres, L, Pacific

All-MPSF Honorable Mention
Steven Irvin, OH, Stanford
Matt Pollock, MB, Pepperdine
Chase Frishman, L, UC San Diego
Florian Gornik, OH, Pacific
Eric Mochalski, MB, Stanford
Taylor Hughes, OH, Pacific
Henry Cassiday, L, USC
Matt West, S, Pepperdine
Robert Feathers, MB, USC
Carl Eberts, OH, UC San Diego
Tanner Jansen, OPP, USC
Evan Mottram, L, UCLA
Brandon Lebrock, OH, Northridge
Nick Castello, L, Hawaii

All-MPSF Freshman Team
Micah Christenson, S, USC
Josh Taylor, OH, Pepperdine
Matt West, S, Pepperdine
Julius Hoefer, OPP, Northridge
Robert Feathers, MB, USC
Matt Tarantino, MB, Pepperdine
Josue Rivera, OH, BYU