Chad Borak Invited to Participate in 2010 adidas Major League Soccer Player Combine

Dec. 14, 2009

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. - Major League Soccer announced they have invited Cal State Northridge's senior defender Chad Borak, along with 61 other collegiate seniors to participate in the 2010 adidas MLS Player Combine in January.

The annual player combine will be held at Central Broward Regional Park in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida from Jan. 8-12.

All 16 MLS teams will be represented at the combine to scout talent, which will end two days before the 2010 MLS SuperDraft. Last year, the event proved to be a pivotal place for talent to display their skills to scouts, as 42 of 60 players who participated in the 2009 combine were selected in the 2009 MLS SuperDraft.

Borak finished an outstanding collegiate career in November as he helped lead the Matadors into the Big West Conference Tournament.

He finished his senior campaign with a goal and an assist for three total points. Borak was a valuable member of the Matador backline that shutout seven opponents in 2009.

Borak earned all-conference honors for the second straight season in 2009. After being named to the Big West Conference Honorable Mention Team in 2008, he was honored with his first Big West First Team selection this season.

He scored the game winning goal in a victory over UC Riverside on Oct. 31 and assisted Joe Franco on a score against the Highlanders on Sept. 30.

The initial list of 62 players invited to participate consist of 44 Division I schools and was determined by a select panel of Division I coaches in conjunction with MLS coaches. The final list of invitees is included below comprised from athletes involved in the Generation adidas program, Division II and III schools, and NAIA schools. Division I alternates will be added to the initial list.

The 2010 combine will separate all players into four teams and feature two games per day throughout the duration of the event. An experience Division I coach and soccer professional will coach each of the four teams.

GOALKEEPERS (5): Brooks Haggerty (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill); Jovan Bubonja (University of Illinois-Chicago); Frederick Hall (Quinnipiac University); Brian Perk (University of California - Los Angeles); John Moore (Stanford University)

DEFENDERS (18): Kevin Tangney (University of Maryland - College Park); Olukorede Aiyegbusi (North Carolina State University); Tim Ream (Saint Louis University); Kwame Watson-Siriboe (University of Connecticut); Phil Edginton (University of Louisville); Ben Clack (St. Johns University); Justin Morrow (University of Notre Dame); Ofori Sarkodie (Indiana University); Martin Hadevag (University of California - Santa Barbara); Chad Borak (California State University, Northridge); Chris Schuler (Creighton University); Julien Edwards (Drake University); Kris Banghart (University of Denver); Nick Cardenas (San Diego State University); Tyler Barry (University of California - Berkeley); Adam Welch (Lehigh University); Steven Kinney (Elon University); Ryan Peterman (University of San Diego)

MIDFIELDERS/FORWARDS (39): Samuel Appiah (Boston University); Carlos Villa (University of Hartford); Zack Schilawski (Wake Forest University); Zach Loyd (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill); Austin da Luz (Wake Forest University); Drew Yates (University of Maryland - College Park); Ronnie Bouemboue (North Carolina State University); Ross LaBauex (University of Virginia); Joseph Noone (Temple University); Isaac Kissi (University of Dayton); Mike Seamon (Villanova University); Othaniel Yanez (University of Louisville); Steffen Vroom (Depaul University); Fred Braun (University of Louisville); Michael Thomas (University of Notre Dame); Toni Stahl (University of Connecticut); Mike Pezza (University of Connecticut); Nelson Becerra (St. John's University); Bright Dike (University of Notre Dame); Jason Yeisley (Penn State University); Mauro Fuzetti (University of Michigan); Eric Alexander (Indiana University); Irving Garcia (University of California - Irvine); David Walker (University of California - Santa Barbara); Andrew Hoxie (College of William & Mary); Nane Joseph (Old Dominion University); Two-Boys Gumede (University of Alabama - Birmingham); Andre Akpan (Harvard University);Craig Henderson (Dartmouth College); Nick Elenz-Martin (Brown University);Kwaku Nyamekye (Harvard University); Seth Sinovic (Creighton University); Justin Davis (University of New Mexico); Kyle Nakawaza (University of California - Los Angeles); Michael Stephens (University of California - Los Angeles); David Estrada (University of California - Los Angeles); Adam Welch (Lehigh University); Conor O'Brien (Bucknell University) Collen Warner (University of Portland); Conor Chinn (University of San Francisco)

Text-Only Website