Cal State Northridge To Honor Matador Student-Athletes

Northridge, Calif. – Seventy-two outstanding Cal State Northridge scholar-athletes will be honored for their success in the classroom on Wednesday at the home of University President Dr. Dianne Harrison.

Family, friends, faculty, coaches, and University and athletic personnel will be on hand to extend their congratulations to the 72 scholar-athletes who have completed a minimum of one season of varsity competition and had a 3.2 grade point average or higher for the previous spring and fall semesters.

This group will make up the 2014 Varsity ‘N Academic Athletics Honor Roll.

“Not only do our student-athletes do well in athletics and academics, they are active members in helping people in the community,” said Dr. Harrison. “I can’t say enough about the pride and enthusiasm our student-athletes have made.”

The 72 student-athletes represent more than 33 academic disciplines, and 18 athletic teams.

The academic disciplines include Accounting, Bio-Chemistry, Biology, Business & Finance, Business Management, Child Development, Civil Engineering, Communications, Communications Studies, Economics, Education, English, Finance & Real Estate, Geography, Health Administration, Health Promotions, Journalism, Kinesiology, Liberal Studies, Marine Biology, Marketing, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Nutrition, Philosophy, Political Science, Pre-Nursing, Pre-Pharmacy, Psychology, Public Administration, Public Health, Recreation Tourism Management, and Sociology.

“As a former student-athlete (at USC), I understand the true testament of the hard work, sacrifice and pride that our student-athletes have,” said Dr. Brandon Martin, CSUN’s Director of Intercollegiate Athletics. “I am not afraid of challenges. I want us (CSUN) to have the top number of scholar-athletes in the Big West Conference.”

The Cal State Northridge Athletic Department has held this annual event since 1982 to honor the academic excellence of their scholar-athletes. Since its origin, more than 600 student-athletes have been honored for their outstanding achievements in the classroom.

The Scholar-Athletes of the Year, the Team of the Year, and the Dick Enberg Post-Graduate Scholarship winners will also be announced.

Student-athletes are encouraged to invite a CSUN faculty member that has promoted a positive impact on their academic career, according to Dr. Tina Kiesler, CSUN's Faculty Athletic Representative and a member of the school's Business Department faculty.

"The Varsity 'N is a celebration of excellence," said Dr. Kiesler, who has been involved with the Varsity 'N for the past four years. "These dedicated young men and women are true scholar-athletes. It is a great honor to acknowledge their many accomplishments and to share the day with them. This one of my favorite events of the year."
New Inductees (45)
Nicholas Alegrado - Men’s Volleyball (Biology)
Natalie Averell - Women’s Water Polo (Public Health)
Leslie Chang - Women’s Tennis (Communications)
Haley Chee – Women’s Soccer (Business & Finance)
Jutta Collet – Women’s Tennis (Communications)
Gabriel Corniel – Baseball (Undeclared)
Taylor Cudequest – Men’s Track & Field (Education)
Jakayla Daniels – Women’s Track & Field (Biology)
Tabatha Dickson – Women’s Soccer (Kinesiology)
Monique Griffiths – Women’s Track & Field (Health Promotions)
Elisabeth Haavardsholm – Women’s Golf (Economics)
Tre Hale-Edmerson – Men’s Basketball (Undeclared)
Madalyne Handy – Softball (Kinesiology)
Taitum Herrington – Women’s Water Polo (Communications & Marketing)
Stephanie Hicks – Women’s Track & Field (Communications)
Sydney House – Softball (Recreation Tourism Management)
Olympia Jewett – Women’s Track & Field (Bio-Chemistry)
Megan Kittlitz – Women’s Track & Field (Communications)
James Knowles – Men’s Track & Field (Biology)
Alexa Limon – Softball (Kinesiology)
Dawaun Lucas – Men’s Track & Field (Marketing)
Tiffini Lucero – Softball (Geography)
Camille Mahlknecht – Women’s Basketball (Business Management)
Stephen Maxwell – Men’s Basketball (Business Management)
Emma Millard – Women’s Track & Field (Psychology)
Stephanie Miller – Women’s Volleyball (Undeclared)
Jealinda Mills – Women’s Track & Field (Communications)
Maylynn Mitchell – Softball (Public Health Promotion)
Alexis Pichardo – Women’s Cross Country/Track &Field (Journalism)
Marcelo Rosales – Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field (Kinesiology)
Marissa Rossi – Women’s Track & Field (Accounting)
Jory Rucker – Men’s Track & Field (Psychology)
Oscar Sachs – Men’s Golf (Communications Studies)
Bradley Sakaida – Men’s Volleyball (Kinesiology)
Drew Staker – Men’s Volleyball (Kinesiology)
Shane Steffes – Men’s Soccer (Undeclared)
Jordan Taylor – Men’s Track & Field (Economics)
Nicole Thompson – Women’s Soccer (Civil Engineering)
Brianna Tucker – Women’s Track & Field (Philosophy)
Jennifer Tyler – Softball (Public Administration)
Jenna Vincej – Women’s Track & Field (Pre-Nursing)
Tucker Weathers – Men’s Track & Field (Kinesiology)
Grant Weiss – Men’s Track & Field (Marketing)
Katrina Wilbanks – Women’s Track & Field (Kinesiology)
Jenna Yowell – Women’s Track & Field (Psyhology)
Repeat Honorees (27 - Previous induction years are noted next to each sport)
Fany Alvarado – Cross Country (2011, Kinesiology)
Yarden Azulay – Men’s Soccer (2012, Marketing)
Lorraine Cheung – Women’s Tennis (2011, 2012, Business Marketing)
Mariah Counts – Women’s Track & Field (2012, Kinesiology)
Melissa Doll – Women’s Water Polo (2011, 2012, Mathematics)
Lindsy Duncan – Women’s Water Polo (2011, 2012, Kinesiology)
Miranda Friess – Women’s Basketball (2012, Pre-Pharmacy)
Britney Graff – Women’s Volleyball (2011, Kinesiology)
Ryan Green – Men’s Golf (2011, 2012, Business)
Molly Henehan – Women’s Water Polo (2011, 2012, Sociology)
Casey Hinger – Women’s Volleyball (2012, Child Development)
Sydney Hubbard – Men’s Track & Field (2011, Journalism)
Marisa Miller – Women’s Soccer (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, Child Development)
Tyler Milton – Men’s Track & Field (2011, 2012, Biology)
Steven Molumby – Men’s Golf (2012, Mechanical Engineering)
Julio Mora – Men’s Cross Country (2010, 2011, Health Administration)
Brittanie Sakajian – Women’s Soccer (2011, Finance & Real Estate)
Cornine Schnyder – Women’s Tennis (2012, Marketing)
Sharon Shin – Women’s Golf (2012, Journalism)
Nicolette Smith – Women’s Soccer (2011, 2012, Liberal Studies)
Cynthia Tafoya – Women’s Soccer (2012, English)
Mikayla Thielges – Softball/Basketball (2011, 2012, Kinesiology)
Le’Shell Vines – Women’s Track & Field (2012, Undeclared)
Wendy Warner – Women’s Soccer (2011, 2012, Nutrition)
Rachel Webb – Women’s Soccer (2012, Political Science)
Tiana Webberly – Women’s Track & Field (2010, 2011, 2012, Kinesiology)
Marisa Young – Women’s Water Polo (2012, Marine Biology)

Text-Only Website